- The lemon law creates what is known in legal terminology as a presumption; the Arkansas Lemon Law presumes that you are entitled to a refund or replacement if the manufacturer or its dealer has made a certain number of unsuccessful attempts to repair nonconformities that substantially impair the use, value or safety of your vehicle (four or more repair attempts, or more than 30 days out of service).
What is the Arkansas Lemon Law?
Any consumer who buys or leases, and registers a new motor vehicle in the State of Arkansas is covered by the Lemon Law. The consumer is protected during the term of the manufacturer’s warranty for up to two (2) years after the original delivery date of the vehicle OR for the first 24,000 miles, whichever occurs last.
How does a car qualify for Lemon Law?
What Qualifies as a Lemon? Under the law of most states, for a vehicle to be considered a lemon, the car must 1) have a “substantial defect,” covered by warranty, that occurs within a certain time after purchase, and 2) continue to have the defect after a “reasonable number” of repair attempts.
Does Arkansas have a car Lemon Law?
The Arkansas New Motor Vehicle Quality Assurance Act, Act 297 of 1993, provides procedures for a consumer to receive a replacement vehicle, or full refund, for a new motor vehicle which cannot be brought into conformity within the warranty provided.
Can you return a used car in Arkansas?
Is there a “cooling off” period on vehicle purchases in the State of Arkansas? Dealers are not required by law to give car buyers a three-day right to cancel. The right to return the car in a few days for a refund exists only if financing is not approved. However, some dealers may, by contract, offer a right to cancel.
What is the MVQA period?
The MVQA begins on the vehicle’s original delivery date to a consumer (when the vehicle is transferred to its first owner) and ends 24 months or 24,000 miles operational miles after that, whichever is later.
How does a vehicle buyback work?
A buyback is a vehicle that the manufacturer repurchased from its previous owner. When a manufacturer “buys back” a vehicle because it had a problem, they typically make repairs and put the car back on the market to resell to another consumer. However, this doesn’t always mean that the defect has been fully repaired.
Can you return a used car if it has problems?
Generally, lemon laws require that the owner of the vehicle allow the dealership multiple chances to fix the defect. If the defect is unable to be fixed after several attempts, the owner may be able to return the car in exchange for compensation or a replacement vehicle.
What states have lemon laws?
Currently, only seven states have used car lemon laws: Connecticut, California, Massachusetts, Minnesota, New Jersey, New Mexico, and New York.
Do I need a lawyer for lemon law?
While it’s not mandatory that you hire a lawyer to represent you in your Lemon Law case, enlisting the aid of an experienced CA Lemon Law attorney can help you get the most out of your claim.
How long does a dealership have to get you a title in Arkansas?
Arkansas residents can apply at any state revenue office. Please allow a minimum of three weeks processing time to receive your title. Please allow a minimum of three weeks processing time to receive your title.
Does Oklahoma have a lemon law?
Oklahoma does not have a lemon law for used vehicles. If you purchased a used vehicle and you are having problems with it, please click here or go to our Practice Area page “Car Dealer Fraud” to learn more about your rights.
How does the lemon law work in Missouri?
Missouri’s lemon law requires car buyers to take action within one year of buying a vehicle. If a customer’s claim succeeds, a dealer is obligated to provide a replacement vehicle that is comparable to the original vehicle.
What is the Used Car Rule?
The Used Car Rule, formally known as the Used Motor Vehicle Trade Regulation Rule, has been in effect since 1985. It requires car dealers to display a window sticker, known as a Buyers Guide, on the used cars they offer for sale.
How long do you have to get insurance after buying a used car in Arkansas?
The Arkansas new-car insurance grace period is 2 to 30 days in most cases. The new-car grace period is how long insured drivers are allowed to drive a newly purchased vehicle before adding it to an existing car insurance policy.
How do I file a lemon law claim?
How to File a Lemon Law Claim
- Take Your Vehicle in for Repairs. The basis for a strong lemon law claim is multiple repair attempts for the same issue or problem.
- Accurately Report Any and All Concerns.
- Keep All of Your Documentation.
- Present Your Lemon Law Claim Sooner Than Later.
- Hire an Experienced Lemon Law Attorney.
Arkansas Lemon Law Rights Consumer Guide
Lemon automobiles in Arkansas may be subject to the wrath of the Arkansas Lemon Law, the Magnuson-Moss Warranty Act (the federal lemon law), or a combination of the two laws. Lemon-aid may consist of a refund, replacement, or lessened value, as well as incidental and consequential damages and/or other remedies. Attorneys’ fees are also available, which means that qualifying customers in Arkansas may be able to get free legal assistance under the Arkansas lemon law. Even if your vehicle is too old or has too many miles to qualify under either of these lemon laws, the Truth in Lending Actand/or other related car buying laws may provide an avenue for you to recover cash damages that can be used to trade in your vehicle or pay for repairs if your vehicle is damaged.
In most cases, your car merely has to have an unreasonable repair history within the warranty to qualify, which may include (but is not limited to) three or four repair efforts for the same problem, six total repairs on the vehicle, or 30 days out of service as a result of the repair.
This document is intended to be used as a guide only.
- Is There Anyone Who Can Be Protected by the Arkansas Automobile Lemon Law?
- Customers are covered for the duration of the manufacturer’s warranty for up to two (2) years following the initial delivery of the vehicle, or for the first 24,000 miles, whichever comes first.
- IMPORTANT: The Arkansas lemon law, which applies to new automobiles, does not apply to the living quarters of mobile homes.
- Motor homes with a gross vehicle weight rating of more than 10,000 pounds, on the other hand, are insured.
If the manufacturer or its dealer has made a certain number of unsuccessful attempts to repair nonconformities that materially impair the use, value, or safety of your vehicle, you are presumed to be entitled to a refund or replacement under the Lemon Law, which is a legal term meaning “presumption” (four or more repair attempts, or more than 30 days out of service).
- Depending on whether the manufacturer can demonstrate that it did not have a fair opportunity to fix your vehicle, you may not be entitled to a refund or replacement vehicle.
- Furthermore, if you have misused the vehicle or have caused damage to it in an accident, the Lemon Law may not apply to you.
- For problems involving defects that are likely to cause death or significant physical damage (such as brake failure or a locking steering wheel), the Lemon Law may apply if the fault is not immediately repaired after the second try.
- It is also critical that you maintain track of any repair receipts as well as a thorough record of all communications with the manufacturer and dealership.
- If there are any expenses for parts and labor, a basic description of the issue, the odometer reading when the vehicle was brought in for repair and likewise when the vehicle was picked up, as well as a summary of all work completed, should be included in this statement.
- Make certain that you get these statements (it is the law) and that you have a copy of them on file.
- Who is responsible for paying?
If repairs are required after your warranty has expired, you will be responsible for the cost of the repairs.
To find out who is responsible for repair expenditures if you are leasing a car, look over your lease contract.
As a result, ensure to keep your receipts safe and secure.
The Lemon Law provides the maker with a “reasonable number of efforts” to repair or remedy the issue before it becomes a legal liability.
The final attempt at mending.
You must send a letter to the manufacturer (not the dealer) by certified mail, return receipt requested, explaining that you believe you may be entitled to a claim and that you are giving the manufacturer one final opportunity to correct the issue before filing your claim.
This letter should be sent out after the third unsuccessful effort to remedy the problem.
Ensure that you save a copy of the letter for your records, as well as a certified postal receipt as confirmation that the letter was received by the manufacturer.
The manufacturer must plan the last repair effort in a timely manner, and if the problem is not rectified within ten (10) days of the scheduled repair attempt, you have the right to demand a replacement vehicle or a refund from the manufacturer.
Obtaining a Refund or Replacement of Your Purchase Replacement– You may be offered a replacement car by the manufacturer; however, you are under no obligation to accept the proposal.
The manufacturer must ensure that you are not required to enter into any refinancing agreement that would impose additional financial obligations on you on top of those imposed by the original financing agreement if you accept a replacement vehicle.
It is still your responsibility to ensure that the title and registration of your new car are transferred.
Vehicles that have been purchased will be refunded– The full purchase price of your original motor vehicle, less a “fair allowance for vehicle use,” will be returned to you if you opt to obtain a refund. The following items are included in the full refund, but are not limited to:
- Any trade-in vehicle credits and allowances
- Costs of any options and other modifications installed by the manufacturer or its authorized dealer
- Sales tax, license and registration fees
- Finance charges
- Costs of renting a similar vehicle while the original car was out of service due to the defect
- Expert fees and charges for extended warranty coverage’s provided by the manufacturer, its subsidiary or agent
- And any other costs incurred by the manufacturer, its subsidiary or agent.
For purposes of determining the “reasonable allowance for vehicle usage,” take the purchase price multiplied by a percentage of the mileage accumulated since when the vehicle was first brought in for repair of the problem and divide that figure by 120,000 miles. If a $12,000 car with 10,000 miles has a reasonable allowance of 120,000,000, the allowance for that vehicle would be computed as: 12,000 X 10,000 = 120,000,000 120,000 = 1,000 According to this example, a $1,000 reasonable allowance for vehicle use is provided.
- Tax Refund on Leased Automobiles – If you have leased your car, you may be entitled to get a complete refund of your leasing expenses, minus a fair allowance for vehicle use.
- If you choose to terminate your lease early, you will not be subject to any penalties.
- If the manufacturer provides you with notice that the program is available and if the program has been certified by the Arkansas Attorney General, you may file a lawsuit under the Arkansas Lemon Law.
- Typically, you will submit your complaint to the program in writing, along with copies for your own records.
- You have the option of accepting or rejecting the program’s decision.
- The manufacturer does not have the option of filing an appeal.
- If you take your case to court, the judge may take the program’s judgment into consideration when making a ruling on your case.
- Otherwise, you are not compelled to use the program.
- It is recommended that you speak with an attorney about these possibilities.
- Compensation may include a refund of the vehicle purchase price or leasing costs (including sales tax), manufacturer or dealer installed accessories, finance charges (if any), reasonable attorney’s fees, and reasonable costs of a rental car while your vehicle is out of service as a result of the defect.
Is it possible for the manufacturer to resell or re-lease a “lemon” car? But the dealer or leasing business must provide the consumer who purchases such a vehicle with a written notification that the vehicle was “returned to the manufacturer because of a nonconformity that was not remedied within an appropriate period of time.” On rare occasions, automobiles are repurchased by the manufacturer prior to any legal action being taken under the Lemon Law against them. Consumers who acquire these sorts of “buy back” automobiles are not required to get a formal notification of their purchase.
As a result, if you are considering acquiring a used car, inquire as to whether it has been repurchased by the manufacturer as a result of a Lemon Law dispute. Identifying and Resolving Issues with New Vehicles: A Review If your car has a problem, you should:
- Don’t hesitate to give your dealer a chance to fix your vehicle. Remember to keep track of any repair invoices and correspondence with the manufacturer or dealer
- If major faults persist after three (3) repair efforts, the following actions must be taken: Provide the Manufacturer with written notification that it has one final opportunity to correct the fault
- If the manufacturer does not schedule the major fault for repair within 10 days of receiving the written notice, or if repairs are not completed within 10 days of delivery for the last repair effort, the following consequences will occur: Require a refund or a replacement car
- If the Manufacturer does not agree that you are entitled to a refund under the Lemon Law, you may pursue the following remedies:
- Filing a complaint with the manufacturer’s informal dispute resolution method is recommended. If you are still unhappy, you could see an attorney about filing a civil lawsuit in court.
Example of a Letter to a Manufacturing Company IMPORTANT: Send this letter certified mail, return receipt requested, to the address shown below. Your First and Last Name Your Postal Code Name of the manufacturer and your telephone number Manufacturer’s Contact Information Greetings, Sir or Madam: According to the Arkansas New Motor Vehicle Quality Assurance Act, I think that my vehicle is a “lemon” (Act 297 of 1993). I am submitting a formal demand for relief under this Act using this document.
I’ve had to return this vehicle to the dealership a total of three occasions since I purchased it from them.
My car has been in for the following repairs on the dates shown below to remedy the problems: My car is now experiencing the following issues, which I am documenting below: Due to the fact that these faults significantly impair the usage, value, or safety of my car, I am thus granting you one final opportunity to fix my vehicle.
I look forward to hearing from you in the near future.
Lemon Law • Central Arkansas Family & General Lawyers
A multitude of concerns fall under the Consumer Protection umbrella, with “lemon autos” being the most often encountered issue we receive complaints about. Act 297 of 1993, known as the Arkansas New Motor Vehicle Quality Assurance Act, establishes processes for a customer to acquire a replacement vehicle or a complete refund for a new motor vehicle that cannot be brought into compliance with the warranty terms and conditions. The time period during which a new vehicle is protected by the Lemon Law expires 24 months after the date of initial delivery of the motor vehicle, or when the vehicle has traveled 24,000 miles, whichever is later.
If the manufacturer has made three unsuccessful attempts to remedy a severe flaw that is likely to cause death or serious bodily damage, the manufacturer is compelled to comply.
However, because attorney’s costs are not generally included in the original talks, it is difficult for them to do so.
What are the fees for Lemon Law representation?
For Lemon Law and other vehicle-related disputes, our flat costs begin at $5000.
If you believe you have a Lemon, please contact us immediately to explore your options.
AR Lawyer, Attorney, Attorneys, Law Firms.
For a list of local Arkansas Lemon Law attorneys, please choose your city from the list below.
Common Arkansas Counties
- Baxter County is located in the state of Arkansas. Benton County is located in the state of Arkansas. Boone County is located in the state of Arkansas. Craighead County is located in the state of Arkansas. Crawford County is located in the state of Arkansas. Crittenden County is located in Arkansas. Faulkner County is located in the state of Arkansas. Garland County is located in Arkansas. Greene County is located in the state of Arkansas. Hot Spring County is located in the state of Arkansas. Independence County is located in the state of Arkansas. Jefferson County is located in the state of Arkansas. Lonoke County is located in the state of Arkansas. Miller County is located in the state of Arkansas. Mississippi County is located in the state of Arkansas. Ouachita County is located in the state of Arkansas. Pope County is located in the state of Arkansas. Pulaski County is located in Arkansas. Saint Francis County is located in Arkansas. Saline County is located in the state of Arkansas. Sebastian County is located in the state of Arkansas. Union County is located in the state of Arkansas. Washington County is located in the state of Arkansas. White County is located in the state of Arkansas. » Arkansas Counties in their entirety »
Is Your Car a Lemon?
You’ve arrived to the correct location. An experienced lemon law attorney can assist you if you just acquired a new vehicle such as a car, truck, RV, or boat and discovered that it has a significant flaw or technical problem. The attorneys at Lemon Law can assist you with all elements of your vehicle purchase – from car buyer protection programs to extended car warranties – and can help you understand your choices. Hire a local lemon law attorney to safeguard your rights against a car’s manufacturer and dealer – and maybe receive a refund or a new vehicle – by utilizing FindLaw.
Need a lawyer in Arkansas?
The FindLaw Lawyer Database is the most comprehensive internet directory of attorneys. More than one million ads are available, covering everything from divorce to personal injury to estate planning and all in between. Detailed law firm profiles provide information such as the company’s practice areas, office location, office hours, and payment choices, among other things. Lawyer profiles feature a lawyer’s biography, education and training, and client recommendations, all of which may be used to assist you in making a decision about who to employ.
How do I choose a lawyer?
Take into consideration the following: Comfort Level- Do you feel comfortable disclosing personal information to the attorney? Does the lawyer appear to be really interested in resolving your issue? Qualifications- For how long has the attorney been in practice? Is the attorney familiar with prior cases that are similar to yours? COSTS- How are the attorney’s fees structured – on an hourly or fixed fee basis? Is it possible for the lawyer to provide an estimate of the cost of your case? Is the lawyer’s office at a convenient location in the city?
Lemon Law Attorney
The process of dealing with a prospective Arkansas lemon law suit might be complicated. You may be wondering whether you require the services of an attorney to assist you with your case. While it is possible to represent oneself in a lemon law case in Arkansas, your chances of success are significantly boosted if you have an experienced Arkansas lemon law attorney on your side to safeguard your rights. Your lemon’s manufacturer or dealership may attempt to disassociate themselves from the situation.
An Arkansas lemon law attorney can assist you in determining the real worth of your claim and actively pursuingjustice on your behalf, so ensuring that you have the best possible chance of obtaining the best possible conclusion in your case.
An Arkansas lemon law attorney should be prepared to negotiate on your side or to litigate in court if that is the best course of action in your situation.
It is our mission to assist you in locating a skilled and experienced attorney that meets your specific needs and can assist you with your claim.
Any consumer goods, including but not limited to automobiles, trucks, SUVs, personal computers and motorcycles, or any other consumer product that may be considered a lemon can benefit from the advice of a qualified Arkansas lemon law attorney.
Finding the Right Arkansas Lemon Law Attorney
The first step in making a claim and maximizing your recovery is to identify an Arkansas lemon law attorney who is experienced in handling such cases. The service we give in assisting you in finding an attorney is completely free, and most lemon law attorneys will work without charging any out-of-pocket legal expenses, rather than pursuing recompense from the manufacturer or dealership, if you qualify. Find a qualified Arkansas lemon law attorney right away! We’ve assisted over 19,000 clients and collected more than $70 million in compensation.
New Car Lemon Law
Act 297 of 1993, known as the Arkansas New Motor Vehicle Quality Assurance Act, establishes processes for a customer to acquire a replacement vehicle or a complete refund for a new motor vehicle that cannot be brought into compliance with the warranty terms and conditions. The time period during which a new vehicle is protected by the Lemon Law expires 24 months after the date of initial delivery of the motor vehicle, or when the vehicle has traveled 24,000 miles, whichever is later. If the manufacturer agrees to provide a refund, it will be for the full purchase price (less an offset for consumer use calculated by multiplying the purchase price by a fraction of how many miles the buyer has driven divided by 120,000 miles), collateral charges such as sales taxes, title taxes and extended warranties, and any other costs incurred by the buyer during the period of the warranty.
If the manufacturer has made three unsuccessful attempts to remedy a severe flaw that is likely to cause death or serious bodily damage, the manufacturer is compelled to comply.
When the manufacturer receives the notification, it must provide the consumer with an opportunity to have the vehicle repaired at a reasonably accessible facility within 10 days of receiving the notification, and the vehicle’s defect must be corrected within 10 days of the consumer arriving at the repair facility.
The manufacturer is obligated to buy the vehicle or replace it if the nonconformity is not corrected after a reasonable number of tries within 40 days of receiving notice of the nonconformity.
The producer is entitled to a sales tax return for tax that has been repaid to the customer if the following documents are submitted:
- The submission of a written request for a refund
- Evidence that the vehicle’s sales tax was paid is required. This is a tax receipt supplied by the Revenue Department. The customer transfers ownership of the tax return to the producer. Documentation demonstrating that the manufacturer returned the sales tax to the consumer
If there is any more information about the transaction, such as a buy-back agreement, informal dispute judgment, arbitration paperwork, or anything else, please include it. An additional trade-in voucher is available to consumers who previously acquired a faulty vehicle that was later repurchased under the Lemon Law and had a trade-in vehicle that was put toward the purchase of the defective vehicle. By granting the same trade allowance that was used to acquire the faulty car, the voucher provides the consumer with the benefit of not having to pay sales tax on the whole value of a replacement vehicle, saving them money on their vehicle purchase.
Information about the original sale must be provided by the consumer, including a copy of the bill of sale for the defective vehicle, which includes a description of the trade vehicle, a copy of the sales tax receipt indicating that the trade allowance was taken, and a copy of the manufacturer’s buy back agreement for the defective vehicle.
A replacement vehicle registration certificate must be given at the time of registration.
Explaining the Lemon Law in Arkansas and Oklahoma
Did you make a mistake and buy a lemon? Drivers in Oklahoma and Arkansas who acquire a faulty vehicle without realizing it can seek restitution from attorneys who are experts in lemon law litigation. Lemon laws are intended to safeguard consumers who have purchased a damaged automobile without realizing it. The car should meet or exceed the consumer’s expectations if the seller sells the vehicle as “dependable,” “in good condition,” or in any other way depicts the vehicle as being worth its asking price.
OKLAHOMA LEMON LAWS
To be termed faulty, or “lemons,” in Oklahoma, a motor vehicle must meet all of the following criteria.
- The maker of the damaged vehicle must attempt to correct the defect(s) at least four times before it is considered successful. In order to register a car, the owner must demonstrate that they have held legal ownership of the vehicle for at least one year. It is necessary for the vehicle owner to demonstrate that their vehicle has been undriveable and in the process of being repaired for a period of 30 business days.
When a lemon is purchased, manufacturers or dealers might offer to replace it with another car or refund the consumer’s whole purchase price (includes registration, taxes, and other related expenses). If they refuse to do one of these things, the customer should seek the assistance of an Oklahoma lemon law attorney to handle the situation on their behalf. Customers should maintain all records of repair bills, communications with the manufacturer/seller, and the length of time the vehicle has been unable to be driven after acquiring a car that shows indicators of being a lemon.
Additionally, even if several repairs are required on the vehicle (if applicable), you should continue to make payments on the vehicle. Refusing to make payments might have a negative impact on your credit history and lead to further difficulties in the future.
ARKANSAS LEMON LAWS
Arkansas New Motor Vehicle Quality Assurance Act, Act 297 of 1993, protects customers who purchase lemons by providing sellers/manufacturers of faulty cars with two options for resolving the situation: (1) replace the vehicle; or (2) refund the purchase price.
- Purchasing non-defective autos to replace lemons
- Making a complete return to victims for new automobiles that are unable to be repaired within the warranty period stipulated in the contract
Arkansas lemon laws do not apply to automobiles that are more than two years old or have traveled more than 24,000 miles after the date of purchase. Before submitting a claim, consumers must enable the seller/manufacturer to make three efforts to repair the fault before filing a claim (s). A written communication to the manufacturer or seller, indicating that the customer wishes to request repairs, must be submitted through certified mail to the manufacturer or seller. It is possible that this effort will be ruled void if the manufacturer does not react to the consumer’s request within 10 days of the consumer’s request.
Residents of Arkansas should also be aware that their state’s lemon laws do not apply to motorbikes, mopeds, motorhome living quarters, or cars weighing more than 13,000 pounds.
WHY HIRE A LEMON LAW ATTORNEY?
As a result of putting the burden of litigation on the shoulders of lemon law attorneys, those who rely on Caddell Reynolds are assured of high-quality counsel against car dealers and manufacturers who neglect to repair or replace their defective goods. To talk with one of our attorneys about filing a lemon law claim in Oklahoma or Arkansas, call us at (800) 889-6944 now.
CAR TROUBLE? YOU COULD BE COVERED BY THE ARKANSAS LEMON LAW
Arkansas approved the Arkansas Lemon Law in 2014, which is also known as the New Motor Vehicle Quality Assurance Act (also known as the Arkansas Lemon Law). In the automotive industry, a “lemon” refers to a new automobile that requires periodic servicing and repairs, often without completely resolving the problem. The term is most likely derived from a Volkswagen advertisement from the 1960s, which featured a guy “picking out” any automobile that didn’t satisfy the car manufacturer’s standards.
- Arkansas automobile owners are protected by the state’s Lemon Law if their vehicle is proven to be a “lemon” within two years or 24,000 miles of the date of purchase.
- We’ve done the legwork for you by interpreting the Arkansas Lemon Law and putting it into plain English for your convenience.
- In Arkansas, the legislation applies to any motor vehicle that has been licensed, acquired, or leased inside the state.
- Your car is protected for the whole term covered by the Motor Vehicle Quality Assurance program, which is 24 months or 24,000 miles whichever comes first, if you are the owner or lessee of the vehicle.
- Which automobiles are not covered by the policy?
- Specifically, “nonconformities” that have a significant impact on the usage, safety, or market value of a vehicle or that cause the vehicle to be nonconforming with the manufacturer’s guarantee are covered.
- In many cases, the deficiencies are obvious and constitute a significant safety risk: malfunctioning brakes or steering, bad seatbelts, electrical difficulties, and several other issues.
So, what’s the difference between a lemon car and a car that has been recalled?
Recalls occur when a fault is discovered in one or more automobiles that has the potential to be reproduced across several automobiles of the same make and model are recalled.
Manufacturers may also choose to issue recalls on their own initiative.
A “lemon” car, on the other hand, is one that has been fixed and serviced several times yet continues to have difficulties despite these efforts.
The Arkansas Lemon Law requires that you file your claim within 30 days of the date of the incident.
In order to correct the faults, manufacturers are given a “fair number of efforts.” In Arkansas, they can attempt to repair the vehicle up to four times (or up to two times if there is a substantial danger of death or harm) before being compelled to buy or replace the vehicle with another.
Taylor King Law can help you find an Arkansas Defective Product Attorney.
You may be entitled to compensation under the law. Taylor King Law can assist you; call 1-800-CAR WRECK or fill out an online form to begin your no-obligation Free Consultation with one of our attorneys.
What is the Arkansas Lemon Law?
New car owners in Arkansas are entitled to a refund or replacement when their vehicle has a major flaw that cannot be rectified under the state’s lemon legislation.
What is a Lemon Law?
Despite the fact that the vast majority of buyers expect their new car to be defect-free, this is not always the case. It has happened in certain cases where consumers have driven their vehicle home from the dealership only to discover later that their vehicle has a major problem that compromise the vehicle’s safety or usability. These automobiles are referred to as “lemons.” Most states, fortunately, have lemon laws that provide buyers with choices when they acquire a lemon. Customers may be entitled to demand a refund or replacement if a severe problem in a lemon is not remedied after an appropriate number of repair efforts under the terms of their state’s lemon legislation.
Is There an Arkansas Lemon Law?
The Arkansas Lemon Law applies to new automobiles that are purchased or delivered within 24 months or 24,000 miles of the date of purchase or delivery. If an eligible vehicle has a major problem that has the potential to cause death or serious bodily damage, the vehicle maker has three efforts to correct the defect before the defect becomes permanent. Unless a car manufacturer can rectify the issue, they must either repair the vehicle or reimburse the consumer for their purchase price. The total amount of the return must include the full purchase price of the car, less any mileage deductions.
Arkansas Lemon Law requires qualified vehicle owners to give a manufacturer one final opportunity to rectify a fault before filing a claim under the law.
Manufacturers are given 40 days to repurchase or replace the vehicle once the last repair has been unsuccessful.
In most cases, customers must first go through Arkansas’ Independent Dispute Settlement Program (IDSP) before they may launch a lawsuit to enforce their lemon law protections.
Should I Hire a Lemon Law Layer?
Although a lawyer is not necessary to file a claim under Arkansas’ lemon law, a trained legal practitioner may make the process much more straightforward and efficient. In particular, alemon lawlawyer can use on their arbitration knowledge to assist customers in through Arkansas’ Independent Dispute Settlement Program.
Alternatively, if the arbitration process fails to produce the desired outcome, a lemon law attorney can assist you in filing a lawsuit against the car manufacturer to recover your losses and damages from the manufacturer.
Join a Free Lemon Law Defective Vehicle Investigation
If any of the following apply to you, you may be eligible for this Lemon Law investigation:
- You purchased your car brand new
- You acquired your vehicle between 2018 and 2020
- Your vehicle is still under warranty
- You have taken your vehicle in for repair on a number of occasions
- You have a good working relationship with your mechanic
- And that it is still experiencing the same issue
(Please keep in mind that residents of North Carolina are not eligible for this inquiry). Fill out the form on this page for a free case examination by one of our expert Lemon Law attorneys, or call (877) 289-0615 to find out whether you qualify. Request a No-Obligation Case Evaluation
We tell you about cash you can claim EVERY WEEK! Sign up for our free newsletter.
ADVERTISING FOR ATTORNEYS Top Class Actions is a proud member of the American Bar Association, and we represent clients nationwide. The provision of legal information does not constitute the provision of legal advice. a legal statement on the most important class actions from 2008 to 2022 Top Class Actions® LLC is a law firm that specializes in class action lawsuits. Various trademarks that are owned by their respective owners are listed below. This website is not intended for access or use by citizens of the European Union or their nationals.
Find Top Little Rock, AR Lemon Law Lawyers Near You
Lemon Law Attorneys|Little Rock Office610 President Clinton Ave, Suite 300, Little Rock, AR 72201 Lemon Law Attorneys|Little Rock Office The Lemon Law Firm’s Little Rock Office is located at 5507 Ranch Drive, Suite 104-D, in Little Rock, Arkansas 72223. Lemon Law Attorneys|Little Rock Office1101 Garland St, Little Rock, AR 72201 Lemon Law Attorneys|Little Rock Office Lemon Law Attorneys|Little Rock Office425 W. Capital Avenue, Suite 3801, Little Rock, AR 72201 Lemon Law Attorneys|Little Rock Office425 W.
Little Rock Lemon Law Information
Lead Counsel independently validates Lemon Law attorneys in Little Rock and confirms their good standing with Arkansas bar associations before retaining their services.
- A great deal of experience Attorneys must fulfill high criteria and demonstrate that they are actively practicing in the field of law in which they have been confirmed. Possessing a good reputation Be in good standing with their respective bar associations and maintain a disciplinary record free of disciplinary action
- Review of the previous year To maintain their Lead Counsel Verified designation, they must submit to an annual review. Commitment on the Part of the Client Pledge to provide the greatest level of customer service and ethical standards possible
Do You Have a Lemon Law Claim?
Have you lately purchased a new car, truck, or other vehicle only to discover that it has a plethora of technical faults or flaws? If this is the case, a Lemon Law Attorney in Little Rock can assist you in enforcing your rights and filing a lemon law claim.
Lemon Law Claims
Lemon laws are in place at the state and federal levels to protect customers from faulty products. It is possible to file a lemon law claim if a product you purchase is plagued with problems and cannot be fixed within a specified period of time. A knowledgeable Little Rock lemon law attorney will be able to assist you in determining your legal alternatives for resolving any troubles you are experiencing with your lemon. He or she will assist you in defending yourself and your rights against the vehicle’s manufacturer and, in certain cases, the dealership.
Best Time to Seek Legal Help
No matter what your legal situation is, it is always advisable to get legal advice as soon as possible in the process. With the assistance of an attorney, you may achieve what is likely to be the greatest possible solution for your circumstance while avoiding both unneeded complexities and mistakes.
How to Prepare for Your Initial Consultation
Prepare for your consultation by making notes on your knowledge of the case, jotting down questions and concerns for the attorney, and gathering all of your necessary papers and information. Keep in mind that you are attempting to determine whether or not the attorney has earned your confidence and can assist you with your legal concerns. Include in your list of questions how the attorney expects to settle your issue, how long he or she has been practicing law and how long he or she has been practicing especially in your region, and how many cases similar to yours the attorney has handled.
Discussing costs with your attorney and/or legal team may also be beneficial in ensuring that you are aware of the anticipated cost and structure of your representation by a certain attorney and/or legal team.
How much does it cost to hire an attorney?
In general, the cost of an attorney is determined by four factors: the billing system and price structure, the sort of legal work performed, the reputation of the law firm, and the amount of experience the attorney has. You may be charged an hourly rate, a fixed cost, or a contingency fee arrangement depending on the legal matter you are dealing with. The sort of legal work you want assistance with will also have an impact on the amount of money you will spend.
Common legal terms explained
Affidavit– A sworn written declaration given under oath that is legally binding. An affidavit is intended to be used as a supporting document in court, aiding the court in the verification of particular facts. Notarization may or may not be required for an affidavit.
Georgia Lemon Law
Make Contact With Us Right Away for a Free Georgia Lemon Law Consultation If we accept your case, you will not be charged any legal costs!
Are you drivinga Lemon in Georgia?
Contact Us Immediately for a Free Georgia Lemon Law Consultation. If we accept your case, you will not be required to pay any attorney costs.
Georgia Lemon Law Statutes“Federal” Lemon law
Read the Georgia Lemon Law Statutes as well as the Federal Lemon Law to find out what your rights are. Statutes Regarding Lemon Law
Car Warranty Information
Look into the manufacturer’s warranty for your car to see what is covered and for how long. Warranty and Reimbursement Our knowledgeable team of Georgia lemon law attorneys is here to provide competent legal assistance for your lemon automobile. Furthermore, you will not be required to pay any attorneys’ costs out of your own money! The Georgia Lemon Law and the Federal Lemon Law both allow a consumer to get a replacement car or a refund under certain circumstances; however, only specific situations are covered.
Consumers are protected from defective “lemon” autos and other defective consumer items by the federal Magnuson-Moss Warranty Act, which was adopted more than 25 years ago.
In accordance with the Federal Statute, you are entitled to monetary compensation in certain circumstances.
Latest Lemon Law Articles
All forms of faulty vehicles, including automobiles, trucks, minivans, sport utility vehicles (SUV), recreational vehicles and campers, full size vans, boats, motorcycles, and even mopeds will be handled by Georgia lemon law experts for consumers in the state of Georgia. Depending on whether the goods is covered by a warranty, federal and Georgia state consumer protection laws may also provide you with “lemon-aid” if the product in question is faulty. Experienced Georgia lemon lawyers have assisted consumers in obtaining compensation for defective automobiles and other items, all without requiring them to pay any out-of-pocket expenses.
Our Georgia lemon law experts may be able to assist you in getting rid of your lemon, and the car manufacturer may cover the cost of your legal bills.
You can also submit your information online to receive a FREE legal case review from a Georgia Lemon Law Lawyer. It’s possible that you’ll be entitled to compensation or that your money will be returned.
Illinois Lemon Law Info – Get a free IL Lemon Law Lawyer!
Illinois, like many other states around the country, is putting its consumers first by providing them with protection against faulty new automobiles on the road. The Illinois Lemon Law is the name of the legislation that provides this level of protection. This broad statute gives protection against new autos that are lemons in the first place. For those who are unfamiliar with the term “lemon,” it refers to an automobile that has a series of recurrent problems or one significant problem that cannot be fixed.
- Despite the extensive protection and authority provided by the Illinois Lemon Law, many consumers are unaware that they have the ability to do something about their lemon car.
- Before pursuing remedies, the consumer must also let the dealer or manufacturer a reasonable number of efforts to remedy the lemon before seeking recourse.
- It does not give legal advice, and the information included in this article should not be regarded as legal advice in any manner.
- If you want assistance with the preparation of your lemon law claim, please contact an experienced legal practitioner.
Illinois Lemon Law Definition of a Lemon
The Lemon Laws of Illinois describe a lemon as a new automobile that has major faults that render it unusable within 30 days of purchase. As an alternative, a lemon is a brand-new vehicle whose value has been significantly lowered as a consequence of a major fault that the dealer or manufacturer has been unable to resolve within the specified term.
Requirements to Qualify under the IL Lemon Law
While other states’ lemon laws apply to used automobiles, the Illinois Lemon Laws are unusual in that they are only applicable to brand-new motor vehicles. It protects drivers whose new cars suffer from a nonconformity or severe flaw within the first 12 months or 12,000 miles (whichever comes first), whichever comes first, that can’t be remedied after at least four tries by the manufacturer or an authorized dealership. In addition, light trucks and vans weighing less than 8,000 pounds, cars acquired in Illinois, and recreational vehicles are covered by Illinois’ Lemon Laws (excluding trailers).
What is considered to be a substantial defect?
Keep in mind that not all flaws or issues with a vehicle will qualify for compensation under the Illinois Lemon Law. A flaw must be of significant significance in order to be covered. It must be a warranty-covered condition that adversely affects the usage, value, or safety of the vehicle in question. For example, defective brakes or steering might be considered a serious flaw in some situations. A significant problem would not include a loosened radio knob or a loosened carpet mat, for example.
Occasionally, the line between what is considered a minor flaw and what is considered a big defect can be extremely small, which is why it is always recommended that you speak with an attorney to aid you with your case.
What are the reasonable repair requirements?
Under the Illinois Lemon Laws, your dealer or the car manufacturer must be given a fair amount of time to attempt to repair your lemon. The manufacturer is allowed four tries to correct the problem under the terms of the legislation. After making many attempts to resolve the situation, you may be entitled to a new car or a complete refund. You may also demand a replacement or a complete refund if your vehicle is at the dealership for any reason for a cumulative total of 30 days or more within the first year or 12,000 miles.
Remedies Under IL Lemon Laws
According to the Illinois Lemon Law, if you contact your vehicle’s manufacturer or authorized dealer from where you acquired the vehicle within a certain timeframe, the manufacturer is required to remedy any flaw or fault covered under the vehicle’s warranty. It is permissible for the manufacturer to obtain a fair offset for your usage of the vehicle that you are experiencing difficulties with.
What should you do if you become aware of a problem withyour car?
If you become aware of a fault or defect with your vehicle, you should take the measures outlined below:
- Any defect or “condition” should be reported as soon as possible, either directly to the manufacturer or to an authorized reseller. Upon receiving a complaint from a customer, the dealer is required by law to provide a written notification to the manufacturer within seven days of receiving the complaint. Maintain meticulous records of all complaints, as well as copies of any service orders, repair invoices, and other communications
- If you want to file a lemon law claim in Illinois, you must follow the correct procedures. It is suggested that you retain an attorney to represent you in court. The Act provides that a consumer may collect all of their attorney expenses in connection with their claim. The lemon law might be complicated and time-consuming to navigate on your own.
How to File a Lemon Law Claim in Illinois You must contact the manufacturer, not the car dealer, in order to file a lemon law claim under California law. In light of the one-year statute of limitations, it is important to register a formal complaint as soon as feasible. It is possible that you will be entitled to a refund or a new car if your vehicle fulfills the standards. Other choices include regulations governing contracts and warranties for new items, among other things. However, before deciding on a specific course of action, you should consult with an expert attorney who can assist you understand your legal rights.
A skilled attorney will handle all of the paperwork for you at no additional expense to you.
What is the Lemon Law for Cars?
- More than $10 billion in verdicts
- More than 800 lawyers nationwide
- Unless and until we win, there is no charge.
- Contact form
- The procedure
- The outcomes
- Related cases
- And more.
Automobiles are subject to the Lemon Law. The expectation is that when you purchase or lease a new automobile, it will provide you with safe and dependable transportation. Because of this, it may be quite aggravating when you have serious problems or defects that the dealer has failed to properly remedy, and you have grounds to file a breach of warranty action against the dealer. It is possible that both state and federal lemon laws will apply in your automobile situation. You will have the chance to acquire a replacement car, a settlement, or a refund if you want to do so.
However, if you have previously gone through many repairs without receiving a satisfactory result, legal action may be necessary.
Evaluation of your case is completely free. Inform us of your circumstances so that we can begin to advocate on your behalf. We personalize each case to fit the specific requirements of our customers.
The Fee is Free TMUnless We Win.
You will be able to find out if you qualify right away.
Get a Call From Us
Our professionals will guide you through the steps of your case and gather all of the material necessary to win your case.
Let Us Get to Work
Throughout the course of your case, our professional attorneys will manage every stage of the process. You will not be charged until we have won. Contact Us Immediately
See Our Results
For more general information on the process of purchasing a car, please see the Purchasing a Vehiclepage on this website. Oregon’s lemon legislation provides protection for new vehicles for up to two years or 24,000 miles after the date of purchase or lease. Depending on the circumstances, you may be entitled to a new car or a refund, minus a fair allowance for use of the vehicle.
To Use Oregon’s Lemon Law
To be eligible for protection under Oregon’s Lemon Law, you must meet the following requirements:
- A item or system that is covered by warranty must not be functional. The fault must be serious enough to significantly reduce the vehicle’s usage, value, or safety
- Otherwise, the problem is not acceptable. Each and every malfunction must be reported to the manufacturer or to the authorized dealer. They will be given the opportunity to correct the situation. At least three unsuccessful attempts to correct the problem must be made (at least one attempt if the problem is likely to result in injury or death), or the vehicle must be in the shop for a total of 30 or more calendar days (60 or more calendar days for a motor home) before it can be repaired or replaced.
Please keep in mind that in the state of Oregon, there is no three-day right of cancellation for automobile sales. As a result, unless it is specifically stated in your sales contract, you will be unable to return your vehicle without a valid legal cause. If you believe you have been sold a lemon, you should consult with a private attorney to determine your rights. The Oregon State Bar reference service, which may be accessed at 503-684-3763 or toll-free in Oregon at 1800-452-7636, will assist you in locating a proper legal counsel for your situation.